Canada Agreement On Internal Trade

Information and copies of the Agreement and Protocols can be found on the website of the Secretariat for Internal Trade. There are a few agreements to improve trade between provinces and territories. The new West Partnership Trade Agreement (NWPTA), comparable to the CFTA, entered into force on 1 July 2010 and was fully implemented on 1 July 2013. The agreement covers the provinces of Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba and Colombia-Colombia. Manitoba joined in November 2016 and the full transition is expected by January 1, 2020. The NWPTA requires any jurisdiction to improve trade, investment and labour mobility and to remove barriers between them. It also requires the western provinces to eliminate unnecessary differences in business standards and regulations and have been to allow services, capital and works to flow freely across the four borders, unless there is an exception. The CIT meets annually. The last personal meeting of the CIT was on May 29, 2019. Minister Morneau participated in part of the CIT meeting in May 2019, as the current Minister of Internal Trade.

A statement issued by Minister Morneau following the meeting can be found in Part C. The four western provinces were supportive of promoting the trade and sale of alcohol within Canada. Alberta and Saskatchewan have lifted existing restrictions on the importation of alcoholic beverages into their provinces. Manitoba has never had such limits and British Columbia has committed to removing existing limits by June 2020. [ * ] The federal government is responsible for negotiating Canada`s international trade agreements. The Government of Alberta represents the interests of the provinces when the federal government negotiates these international agreements, particularly in territories under provincial jurisdiction or when there are significant economic benefits to the province. Examples of Canada`s international trade agreements impacting Alberta are listed below. There are no barriers to domestic alcohol trade in Canada. In June 2019, the federal government removed the only federal restriction on the importation of intoxicating spirits laws, which required alcohol to be moved from one province to another by a provincial spirits agency. However, all provinces except Manitoba have included an exception in the Canadian Free Trade Agreement (CFTA), which limits trade in alcoholic beverages.

[ * ] “I look forward to our continued cooperation to improve trade in our country.” At the first ministerial meeting in December 2018, Premiers agreed to accelerate work to eliminate domestic trade barriers and committed to: on December 13, 2018, following the Prime Minister`s meeting in Montreal, Premier Pallister issued a press release and called for resolute federal action to reduce internal trade barriers. In a side agreement with the United States as part of negotiations between Canada, the United States and Mexico, British Columbia agreed to eliminate measures that only allowed the sale of B.C. wine in grocery stores to allow for more international wine selection in those stores. However, British Columbia still allows the delivery of 100 per cent Canadian wine from outside the province to the home. . . .